Accounting Follow-up

26 01 2010

Just a quick follow-up.  I’ve had people in my profession tell me I’m too picky about what clients I take on.  You know what my experience has been?  Getting quality clients means that not only do I get paid on time, but I have people that actually value my input!

For example, this year, 6 of my clients gave me Christmas presents and EVERY SINGLE client sent a HANDWRITTEN  card!  Considering that currently I only have 8 clients, that’s a pretty darn good percentage!  And it’s not the size or amount of the gift that counts – it’s the thought.  And the two clients that didn’t give gifts were completely understandable – I was barely able to keep them from going under, but they’re still there!  (If only they had hired me earlier in the year – they wouldn’t have gotten into that position!!!)

And you know what else?  Because they’re so thoughtful, I pay much closer attention to them and make sure that everything I do for them is RIGHT the FIRST time!  And I’m talking about obsessive perfection.

I used to think that the success of my business would be reflected by the number of clients I had.  I was completely and utterly wrong.   Most of those clients were simply looking for the cheapest designer that could actually come up with designs.  Now I’m much wiser (but not older!) and I pick and choose my clients, and I’m up front with them about how I do things.  My clients are happy, I’m happy – Everyone Wins!

So I reiterate – ❤ your Accountant, your attorney, your dry cleaner.  You never know when those relationships will really need to be relied upon.  Besides it being just common courtesy, it’s just a plain ‘ol thing to be nice!  Trust me – you’ll feel good about it!  🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

