Something New

5 01 2009

Well, I’ve entered my first local art show.  The Pinellas Park Art Society is having their 20th Annual Photography contest, and thanks to a friend who told me about it, I’ve entered.   I was surprised at the entry fees – only $8 per piece up to 6 pieces.  Three different categories – Black and White, Color and Digital.

Now before you ask, “Aren’t most photos today Digital?”, let me clarify.  The Digital category is for photos that are more than 25% manipulated, such as HDR and other ‘artistic’ ideas.  Just adjusting the exposure doesn’t count.  I have two entered in that category.

I have to say, I’m a little nervous.  I’ve been in other art shows, but this one’s local, so maybe that’s why I’m nervous.  Here’s a link to the Pinellas Park Art Society web page, so you can see what they do. There isn’t too much to their website yet, but I understand that it’s coming along. Non-profits can have a hard time getting these things up and running.

So go check out their site. The photography show opens on January 12th at the renovated railroad station in Pinellas Park. If you have nothing better to do, or want to get out of the house for a free event, come join us! And be sure to check back here – I’ll be giving updates on the show (specific times, results, etc.).

I have to say, I’m anxious about whether or not I’m getting a prize!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

