There and Back Again…..

27 08 2007

Well, sorry to disappoint ya’ll, but I took the weekend off from the computer.  And let me tell you – IT WAS GREAT!!!  No technology whatsoever!  No MP3 player, no dishwasher/dryer/washer and I cooked out over a real firepit with my cast iron cookware.  While some people may faint at the idea of living without technology, let me tell you, it really isn’t as bad as it sounds.  Anybody see Jericho this past season?  I don’t usually watch tv (no time to…), but I’ve kind of/sort of kept up with the storyline.  Anyways, for those of you who don’t know the storyline, America gets attacked from traitors on the inside, using the Bin Laden (or some other terrorist) group for cover.  All their electronics go out from an EMP.  Let me tell you – this country is so dependent on technology, that IF that should ever happen to this wonderful country – we’d really be in a great big pile of cow patties.  Look what happened to the businesses that made their headquarters in one of the World Trade towers.  Many went out of business, not due to the towers disintegrating, but because these MAJOR companies had no backup.  No paper copies offsite for recordkeeping.

No, I’m not trying to advertise that this should happen.  I’m just saying that we need to take a few precautions.  We rely too much on technology that we don’t know how the actual process happens anymore.  For example.  I was in an Accounting class at the local college this past spring semester.  Not one person in that room could do long division without a calculator.  Pretty sad.  For that matter, most didn’t know how to work an accounting calculator, much less a hand-held version.

People, think about it.  We need to find some way of backing up our files, even if it means paper versions.  I live in Tampa Bay, Florida, the lightning capital of the world.  I’ve lost many files due to electromagnetic interference from the static that lightning can cause.  Not to mention a few lightning strikes as well.  So heed my word.  Back up, often and in multiple locations and formats…..

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

