Rant for the day

5 07 2007

Okay, this is a wow/rant for today’s entry.

Fourth of July – What an incredible time!  Usually I stay at home and shoot off fireworks with friends from my floating dock on the lake in my backyard, but since so many people were out of town this year, I took my boys to go see the local fireworks with the rest of the crowd at city hall.  So incredible.  There were fireworks that were shot in the air a good 2,000 feet, while some were only a few feet above the water.  (City hall is next to a waterway…)  Some of the missiles they sent up only let off their “BANG” after a few seconds delay.  But when they did…..  not only did it set off every single car alarm in the region, it completely rattled your chest.  TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!  Unfortunately, I was stupid and I forgot to bring my camera.  Sorry, no photos.  Yes, I am hanging my head in shame.

On the other subject, I would deeply encourage any and everyone to boycott their police departments speed traps.  I was coming home from lunch today and saw one of the worst traps I’ve EVER seen!!!!  15 motorcycle cops, and no, I am NOT joking, were off to the side of a road.  Before you ask, I did NOT get a ticket.  They just happened to be at the bottom of a hill, where, you guessed it, people have a natural tendency to speed up just ever so slightly due to gravity and physics.  These guys were nailing people for going 2-3 miles over the speed limit.  That equates to a $100 fine around here.  As far as I’m concerned, hiding completely out of sight waiting for someone to speed 2 miles over the limit due to natural gravity is almost tantamount to self-incrimination on the witness stand.

Yes, I believe that driving is a priviledge, not a right, however, those of us who are priviledged enough to do so must obey the law.  But this is just simply outrageous.  There is a considerable difference between going 2 miles over, and 10.  I can think of many things that are far more important for the police to be doing than setting up speed traps for extra revenue just to line their pockets more.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

